Brittany Murphy… another battle lost?

First, I just want to say how deeply saddened I am to hear about Brittany Murphy’s death. Like most girls, Clueless is one of my favorite movies, and I followed Murphy’s career from the “valley girl” classic to Girl, Interrupted, to 8 Mile. I was completely shocked when I first heard the heart breaking news. It’s extremely disturbing, as she was only 32-years-old.

I’ve been following the reports of Murphy’s death. The press first said Murphy’s cardiac arrest was due to natural causes. Then I heard it may have had something to do with her Diabetes. Later on, I heard it was drugs. Like any other celebrity death, the news has changed about 100 times, and it’s only been known to the public for a little over 24 hours. I read a report earlier today however, about how Murphy greatly struggled with self-image issues and eating disorders.

People Magazine reported how Murphy struggled with body image issues over her 18-year (too short for her age) career. She fought the tabloids as soon as the press started rumors of an eating disorder, saying (according to People), “I’m the same size I was in Clueless; it’s just that the weight in your face changes as you grow and get older. This is my body. I’m proud of it … I’m healthy.”

Reports of the actress always being extremely self-conscious were released. Also according to People, one even said, “A lot of her problems were due to poor self image. She wore extraordinary amounts of makeup, tons of fake eyelashes, got her teeth capped, dyed her hair blonde, lost weight – she wanted to be a beauty. She didn’t want to be the fat girl from Clueless. She didn’t eat a lot. She would drink copious amounts of coffee.”

I will continue to follow Murphy’s death investigation. Whatever the cause may be, this is an extremely sad story. If Murphy’s death is due in part to self-image issues, I really hope people will open their eyes, and start to pay attention to the terrible effects the media can have on a person.

~ by jklein0414 on December 22, 2009.

One Response to “Brittany Murphy… another battle lost?”

  1. Hi,

    I have given you a Beautiful Blogger Award. You can claim it here – http://www.beautifulyoubyjulie.com/2010/02/beautiful-blogger-award.html

    Best,

    Julie

Leave a Reply

 
