Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show 2009 review

So, did everyone see the ridiculous bodies walking down the runway last night?

The Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show aired Tuesday at 10 p.m. I decided to watch it as a tradition with a bunch of my girlfriends. I can’t even count the number of times I heard, “I’m going on a diet.”

After blogging about body image for three months and realizing all of the horrible effects the media has on our bodies, you would think I wouldn’t be affected by these women. However, I caught myself several times thinking I should do two-a-days at the gym for a while.

Some people would call this show a one hour torture session, but it’s important to look at it as pure entertainment and not to take it too personally.  However, I did think there was one part of the show that seriously crossed the line. This segment focused on the flaws of the models competing in the search for the next Victoria’s Secret Angel.

During this part of the show, the Angels-to-be were brought to several trainers at a gym. These trainers told the models what they didn’t like about their bodies.

I was flabbergasted.

Besides a few of them being too skinny, I would not have been able to name one thing wrong with these beautiful girls. One of the trainers non chalantly told a model what was wrong with her body to her face. If you missed it, be sure to watch the clip I’ve included.

Besides that disturbing part, I thoroughly enjoyed the show, as I do every year. I especially loved the Black Eyed Peas performance.

What did you think?

~ by jklein0414 on December 2, 2009.

One Response to “Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show 2009 review”

  1. A few of these girls are too thin?? ALL of them are too thin. That is not beautiful. These women are a sad sight. I feel sorry for them.

Leave a Reply

 
