Interview with Carly Miller

I interviewed Carly Miller, who has recently recovered from multiple eating disorders. However, this interview means a lot to me, because not only is Carly one of my very close friends, she’s also one of the inspirations for my blog.

Carly (left) and me (right) during our freshman year of college at Towson

Carly and I hit it off right away. We’re both Philadelphia natives and our high schools were huge rivals. We came to Towson University together and became friends right away. We were inseparable. We pledged the same sorority, and did everything together, until problems started to arise.

Carly left Towson during our sophomore year of college to get long-term help at a facility in Toledo, Ohio. Since then, she’s made amazing progress and has come to a full recovery.

Here’s a small tease to the story…

“My eating disorder first developed when I was 15. It started up again my senior year of high school but didn’t become extreme until the second semester of my freshman year of college. There were a lot of contributing factors to my ED. Being an athlete, I was always told that the smaller you were, the faster you went. and I really stuck by that idea. In college, there were so many changes going on and I just felt like I needed something that I could have control over, and I chose my weight. Additionally, there were some extremely negative experiences that I felt a lot of anger about, but was too scared to vocalize it, so I turned the anger in on myself and abused my body instead,” Miller said.

For her full story, read the feature story on the page to the right titled, “Her long and winding road to recovery.”

Thanks to Carly for the interview and I’m so proud of you! šŸ™‚

~ by jklein0414 on November 19, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
