Interview with a recovered ED patient Part II

Here is Part II of my interview with Kendra Sebelius. Part I is just one post below!

IMG_3375

JK: Were you apart of Fat Talk Free week?

KS: I did. I shared awareness through twitter, followed through my Facebook, and was mindful of my own self talk. I think this was a very powerful movement because I think we often overestimate the affect our own thoughts have upon our self esteem and body image. I think FTFW was a great start – but I think it is a call for a wider spread movement – one that brings awareness to how we talk to ourselves on a daily basis. We do not only use “fat talk”, we are often judgmental, cruel, mean to ourselves on so many different levels. Often the thoughts we think about ourselves we would never accept from another person. We have powerful influence over our self esteem and body image. Being mindful of how we talk to ourselves should be a daily life campaign in my opinion. 

JK: I’m sure you have heard about/seen the Ralph Lauren photoshopped advertisements. What do you think about these and the message they are giving to the public about society?

KS: I have heard and read many articles and seen interviews about this. Of course I worry about the messages this sends to people. I get saddened by stories like this but I choose to look at it from a different perspective. Using photoshop as a way to alter photos is nothing new – it happens everyday and I feel stories like this helps my cause and many others in this positive body image movement. I believe it is such great bad press that it reaches HUGE audiences and this gives us the ability to use stories like this to further our message. We have the opportunity to write, share and talk about this story with the people in our daily lives, especially our children. We can use this as a way to show the truth of images, showing this “ideal beauty” does not exist, and get children and people to start critically thinking about the messages they see on a daily basis. Creating awareness and sharing this stories helps people question the images and messages they see. I believe our message and influence is just as powerful as those in business, because we can not only reach people through social media, but we can choose to talk to the people in our real lives and start to talk about these issues.

JK: What do you aim to achieve by tweeting about body image? 

KS: This is a great question, and one that actually stumped me at first! I honestly hope by tweeting about body image, that I am spreading awareness of how we think of body image. I think we have to understand what body image is, how we personally view ourselves, and how we wish to change that. I also think its important to remind myself of how I view others. No one likes to make rash judgments based on appearance, but I think so many people do, and I hope by tweeting, and spreading advocacy on body image that I can get people to start to be more mindful of how they think and treat others. We do not know others stories, or struggles, and by creating awareness and hopefully getting people to really think about their own body image, they can start to see others with more compassion. I also am of course hope to help people in their own personal recovery from eating disorders, but that is a noble and large goal. I hope by tweeting my own personal struggles that I can help others know they are not alone, that they do not have to struggle alone, and that their voices are important.  I hope to be a voice, but not the voice. I hope to be able to share others peoples hopes, struggles, successes, and recovery stories. 

JK: Anything else you can tell me? 

KS: I love what I do, and I wish there were more hours in the day to do everything I want to do! I live authentically now, something I never understood until I entered recovery. I am normal in that I too struggle with body image, I have days where I have to smack negative self talk out of my head. But the ability to recognize harmful self talk in myself gives me hope that it is possible for me to be able to help if only one person in the work I do through Twitter, Facebook, my blog, or through Mentor Connect.  

I am grateful for the many people that are part of this movement. I have met so many wonderful advocates and am humbled to be a part of this journey to help change things one tweet, one message, one blog at a time.

~ by jklein0414 on November 4, 2009.

One Response to “Interview with a recovered ED patient Part II”

  1. Fabulous interview on a great subject! Thanks Jessica and Kendra.

Leave a Reply

 
